Council Year 2006/2007

Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed appointments to the Cabinet by the Leader

<u>Notes</u>: (1) Where the number of members of a body is variable, the optional additional member number is bracketed - please see the accompanying paper on the application of the political balance rules where the different options are considered.

(2) Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group unless stated otherwise.

CABINET (Leader of the Council plus 3 or 4 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the 3 or 4 members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be five in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

1	Leader of the Council: Lucas
2	Deputy Leader: Elkin
3	Mrs Howlett
4	Williams
(5)	No appointment to be made at this time

OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABINET" (Notification for information)

1	Opposition Leader: Tutt
2	Deputy Leader: Stanley
3	Wallis
4	Thompson
5	Bannister

COMMITTEES

Scrutiny Committee (7 (or 8) members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman to be appointed from the largest opposition group. and Deputy Chairman from the controlling group*.

(*Note. This assumes that the proposals contained in the report earlier on the Annual Council meeting agenda in relation to enhanced Scrutiny Committee arrangements and the incorporation of the functions of the Performance Management Task Group's functions within that Committee's widened remit will be approved.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Marsden	5	Ch: Mrs Bannister
2	Lacey, OBE	6	Miss Woodall
3	Taylor	7	Tester
4	Warner	Substitutes:	
(8)	Not required this year	1	Mrs Pooley
Sub	stitutes:	2	Wallis
1	Herbert	3	Slater
2	Mrs Murray		
3	Stevens		

<u>Planning Committee</u> (12 trained Councillors - not Cabinet members. 8 as members of the Committee and 4 as substitutes).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Taylor	6	Marsh
2	D/Ch: Stevens	7	Harris
3	Herbert	8	Mrs Pooley
4	Mrs Goodall	Substitutes:	
5	Mrs Murray	1	Slater
Substitutes:		2	Mrs Sims
1	Bowker		
2	Mrs Angel		

<u>Licensing Act and General Licensing Committees</u> (Between 10 and 15 trained Members (currently 15) – not Cabinet members).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Mrs Murray	9	Mrs Pooley
2	D/Ch: Bowker	10	Mrs Sims
3	Herbert	11	Marsh
4	Lacey, OBE	12	Miss Woodall
5	Stevens	13	Harris
6	Taylor	14	Tester
7	Mrs Goodall	15	Wallis
8	Mrs Angel		

No substitution allowed

<u>Sub-Committee Standing Chairmen:</u> (Between 3 and 5 members drawn from the membership of the Licensing Committees – currently 5)

Controlling Group	Opposition	
Mrs Murray	Mrs Pooley	
Stevens	Marsh	
Taylor		
Lacey, OBE		
Herbert		

<u>Standards Committee</u> (4 councillors and 2 independent members and to be chaired by one of the independent members)

Controlling Group		Opposition		
1	Taylor	3	Harris	
2	Warner	4	Marsh	
Sub	ostitutes:	Su	Substitutes:	
1	Bowker	1	Mrs Sims	
2	Mrs Murray	2	Tester	
Independent Members				
1	Mr Alan Hobden (Chairman)			
2	Mr Jaye Libeccio (Dep Chairman)			

<u>Annual Accounts Committee</u> (5 councillors, to include the Cabinet member and the Opposition spokesperson for finance)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Williams	4	Stanley
2	D/Ch: Marsden	5	Slater
3	Mrs Goodall		
Substitutes:		Su	bstitutes:
1	Lucas	1	Tester
2	Herbert	2	Tutt

ADVISORY GROUPS

Conservation Area Advisory Group 4 (or 3) members, not Planning Committee members, plus external advisors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Elkin	3	Thompson
2	D/Ch: Willliams	4	Miss Woodall

Joint Staff Consultative Committee (6 members, 3 from the controlling group and 3 from the largest opposition group, plus Staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include 2 Cabinet and 1 non-Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employers and Staff Sides. For 2006/07 the Chairmanship passes to the Staff Side.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Lucas	4	Thompson
2	Mrs Howlett	5	Marsh
3	Mrs Goodall	6	Miss Woodall

TASK GROUPS AND OTHER BODIES:

Grants Task Group (3 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Mrs Howlett	3	Mrs Sims
2	Herbert		

Audit Task Group (2 members of the Scrutiny Committee)

Controlling Group		Opposition		
1	Warner	2	Tester	

Downland Forum (4 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition		
1	1	Stevens	3	Miss Woodall
2	2	Elkin	(4)	Wallis

Cleansing and Highways Forum (2 members)

Controlling Group	Opposition
Elkin	Thompson

Eastbourne Buses Limited - Non Executive Directors (4 councillors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Warner	3	Slater
2	Herbert	4	Tester

Eastbourne Homes - Non Executive Directors (4 councillors, with an additional officer non-executive director to be nominated)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Mrs Murray	3	Mrs Pooley
2	Mrs Angel	4	Tutt

Eastbourne and Wealden Lifeline - Non Executive Directors (2 councillors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Mrs Murray	2	Miss Woodall

PROJECT BOARDS AND OTHER

Members' IT/E-Government: Councillors Williams and Harris

Town Centre Development: Councillors Lucas and Mrs Bannister

Cleansing Contracts/Garden Waste: Councillors Elkin and Miss Woodall

Civil Parking (joint with East Sussex County Council): Councillors Elkin and

Tutt

Wartling Road Coach and Lorry Park: Councillors Elkin and Thompson

Cultural Centre: Councillors Lucas and Tutt

Cultural Festival Steering Group: Leader of the Council and relevant

Cabinet member

Local Development Framework Steering Group: Councillors Elkin and

Thompson

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief: Councillors Mrs Angel, Herbert, Mrs Bannister and Mrs Sims

(der\P:council\06.05.17\schedule of group noms)